This year is just flying by – I can’t believe it’s almost March already! I have been on a big cleaning and organizing kick, which involves a major overhaul of my entire craft storage “system” (if you can call it that). One of the benefits of reorganizing all of my craft supplies is that I’ve remembered about a lot of things that I had forgotten that I have – and I’m using everything a lot more! I made my boyfriend a handcrafted, stamped Valentine, which was so much fun. I’ve also remembered that I really, really need to slow down on fabric purchasing and focus on finishing up a lot of unfinished projects!

In the midst of all this organizing madness, I haven’t touched a single quilt project, but I did get started on my first real garment sewing adventure – a Washi dress! I’m using this fabric from Bari J’s Splendor 1920 collection. I love the fabric, but I’m not sure how much I’m going to love it for clothing – I am very picky about wearing patterns and I think this one is kind of “out there” for me. I love the Washi dress pattern so much that I’ve already ordered several other big cuts of fabric to make more dresses! I normally only ever buy fat quarters or half yards, so now that I’m getting interested in sewing garments, I might need to start buying bigger cuts of my favorite fabrics! (Yes, I realize this is in direct conflict with needing to slow down the fabric purchasing.)

So, the Washi dress. I love it. It’s challenging for me. I hate cutting curves and I have never sewn anything three-dimensional before (except maybe pockets in a purse). But it’s also much easier than the purses that I’ve made, with fewer layers to cut and bigger curves.

IMG_0177

Pleated Skirt for Washi dress | Janeylulu

Next up is the shirring in the back bodice, which I’m a little nervous about. My sewing machine is pretty cheap-o and I don’t know how it will handle the elastic thread. Should be interesting.

I also need to get back to some of my quilting projects!

Here’s the in-progress inventory (I’m only counting quilts, not small projects):

Quilt tops in progress:

Blitzen Christmas quilt
Christmas Century of Progress quilt
Livy’s wonky stars quilt
Hope Valley drunkard’s path quilt
Secret solids quilt
Kieran’s robot quilt
Colorful log cabin quilt
Wonky nine-patch quilt (I am re-excited about this one!)

Completed quilt tops, waiting for quilting:

Delia’s Central Park log cabin quilt
Tattooed Ladies mini quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for binding:

none

This week’s stats:

Last week’s count: 10
Started this week: 0
Completed this week: 0
Current works in progress: 10

Check out everyone else’s links by clicking the button below.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

