I missed a week. Oops.

No new projects, just the excitement of finishing the top of my picnic blanket! I love the simplicity of it, although I’m still second-guessing that dark forest green, and I kind of wish it was “pinker”, though I think my boyfriend will appreciate that it’s not ridiculously girly, despite its floral inspiration.

I sewed the rectangles into pairs, then foursomes, then eightsomes. Then I had the challenge of arranging the eightsomes in such a way that no two rectangles of the same fabric were touching each other and the really dark/bold colors were distributed somewhat evenly and not clumped all together. I relied on my trusty paper, scissors, and colored pencils to solve that puzzle!

In retrospect, I probably could have distributed the colors and bolder patterns better if I had planned out the layout from the start, but this method has its own charms.

It’s rather large and it’s tough to get a picture of the whole thing!

There’s one block that’s different than the others – middle right, there’s a block with two squares and a rectangle. All the rectangles are “golden rectangles” (the ratio of width to length is 1.62, also known as phi, also known as my boyfriend’s favorite number) and the idea of the golden rectangle is that if you cut a square out of the rectangle, the remainder forms another rectangle with the same proportions. If you keep cutting squares out of the rectangle, you’ll form a “golden spiral.” Math is fun!

Here’s the in-progress inventory:

Quilt tops in progress:

Livy’s wonky stars quilt
Hope Valley drunkard’s path quilt
Secret solids quilt
Kieran’s robot quilt
Colorful log cabin quilt
Wonky nine-patch quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for quilting:

Summer floral picnic blanket
Delia’s Central Park log cabin quilt
Tattooed Ladies mini quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for binding:

none

Small projects in progress:

Starburst Leftovers mug rug
Christmas mug rug
Ruby Star Rising zip pocket pouch
Poppy print makeup roll

This week’s stats:

Last week’s count: 12
Started this week: 0
Completed this week:  0
Current works in progress – 12

Check out everyone else’s links by clicking the button below.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

