After the excitement of having a completed quilt to announce last week, this week feels a bit anti-climactic. (Although given my typical speed for finishing projects, I shouldn’t let myself get too invested in having a new completed quilt to announce each week!)

I did make a cute little wristlet for my niece’s 12th birthday, using some of my treasured canvas-weight Daiwabo elephants! It’s one of my favorite purses I’ve made yet. The inside is green Pezzy Prints, with a pocket – I didn’t get a photo of the inside.

 

I already blogged about the new “quilt” (really a picnic blanket, or a “summerweight quilt”) that I started last weekend! Read more here. I’ve already re-designed my plan for it, though – it will be 6″ x 9.5″ rectangles rather than 10″ squares. I wanted to use each fabric more often, and it seemed more efficient to cut 6″ strips from these fabrics (some of which are only fat quarters) rather than big old 10″ squares, which will result in lots of odd scraps.

I started cutting out the fabric last night. Right now, this mix looks a bit yucky (particularly that dark forest green), but I think once I add in the oranges, yellows, and lighter greens, it will look more cheerful!

 

These are all the fabrics I’ll be using (see, definitely more cheerful, right?):

Here’s the in-progress inventory:

Quilt tops in progress:

Summer floral picnic blanket
Livy’s wonky stars quilt
Hope Valley drunkard’s path quilt
Secret solids quilt
Kieran’s robot quilt
Colorful log cabin quilt
Wonky nine-patch quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for quilting:

Delia’s Central Park log cabin quilt
Tattooed Ladies mini quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for binding:

none

Small projects in progress:

Starburst Leftovers mug rug
Christmas mug rug
Ruby Star Rising zip pocket pouch
Poppy print makeup roll

This week’s stats:

Last week’s count: 12
Started this week: 2
Completed this week:  1
Current works in progress – 13

Check out everyone else’s links by clicking the button below.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

