I’ve been amassing a lot of zipper pouch tutorials on Pinterest lately (click here to see my board). I have all these strips left over from the secret solids project, so I decided to make a stripey boxed pouch using this tutorial. It’s nice and roomy and I love the colors! The solids are Kona Stone (my favorite neutral), Windsor (an awesome deep blue), and Deep Violet (the purple). The navy and aqua print is from Denyse Schmidt’s latest line at Jo-Anns, the purple and white print is of course from the Echo collection by Lotta Jansdotter, the peachy crosshatch is from Timeless Treasures (I think), and the lining is from Anna Maria Horner’s Innocent Crush line. I am on a major AMH kick.

The tutorial was very well done – easy to follow and it was a satisfyingly quick project! It would have been even quicker if I hadn’t quilted it so densely. If I could do it all over again (which I probably will), I’ll use a stiffer interfacing rather than batting to give the pouch a little more structure, and I’ll have the outer neutral stripes be wider so the colored stripes at either end aren’t almost cut off by the boxed corners.

The colors are a bit truer in this photo which was taken in natural lighting.

