I’m linking up to the Bloggers’ Quilt Festival with my second completed quilt! (And I’m also linking up to the Manic Monday Linky Party and the {Sew} Modern Monday link-up.)

{Sew} Modern Monday at Canoe Ridge Creations

This is my second completed quilt, and I’m in love with it. I call it the Rainbow New Wave (super creative, huh?).

I made the quilt top while I was still in the midst of making my niece’s much more complex string quilt and I wanted some instant gratification – I love the simplicity of this pattern from Elizabeth Hartman, it was so quick to cut and piece! I was relatively new to quilting and just starting to build my stash – I had ordered a stack of fabric from Form & Fabric and realized when it came that it included at least one fabric in each color of the rainbow. I decided to use the stack to make myself a quilt (I had to add a few other fabrics from my stash as well). I completed the quilt top in no time, but then I had to finish up my niece’s graduation quilt and put off quilting and binding the New Wave quilt for months! I just finally finished it a few days ago.

I’m especially excited because I’m keeping this quilt for myself! It incorporates a lot of my favorite designers and fabrics (Anna Maria Horner, Jay McCarroll, Amy Butler…)

Another view of the finished quilt:

These pictures don’t really do it justice…I should have smoothed it down more, it looks kind of puffy. I need a helper to hold it up for me so I can take better pictures!

I quilted two lines through all the white stripes with white thread on top and colored on the back. I like the strong graphic lines that created on the solid gray back. I added squares of each fabric I used to spice up the back a little!

Pattern: New Wave pattern by Elizabeth Hartman.
Fabrics: Counterclockwise from the skull print: Alexander Henry Papel Bonito (skulls), Anna Maria Horner Buttoned Up (pomegranate), unknown (orange), Amy Butler Midwest Modern Martini (gold), Michael Miller Ta Dot (mustard), Echino Leopard Dot (yellow), Jay McCarroll Polka Dots (green), Amy Butler Soul Blossoms Temple Doors (green), Jay McCarroll Polka Dots (teal), Anna Maria Horner Innocent Crush Woodcut (SassBlue), Jay McCarroll Polka Dots (purple), Anna Maria Horner Buttoned Up (plum).
 
Backing: A dark gray solid (not sure which one).
Binding
:  A colorful mix of Kona solids.
Dimensions: 51″ x 55″
