Last night I used two of my new Go Baby dies to make a cute little potholder for a co-worker who’s about to go on a medical leave for awhile, so I wanted to do something nice for her. I used the Gingham Dog die and the 4″ half square triangle die. This was my first foray into applique and I just used a machine zigzag stitch. I definitely need some practice on making the turns more smoothly, but I was pretty pleased with it for a first attempt!

I like how the fabric’s dots lined up perfectly to be the dog’s nose and eye – totally not intentional!

The one thing I don’t like about putting the dog on the middle of the HSTs is that it covers up how perfectly the corners matched up…I have a feeling I’ll be using the HST die a lot!! I already went out and bought the 3″ HST die at Jo-Anns, too!  I’m about to start cutting about a million HSTs from my Central Park charm squares to make a baby quilt. I have not one but FOUR co-workers and one cousin expecting babies right now!

