I finished my mom’s birthday gift bookshelf mini quilt (blogged here) over the weekend:

And I made one more block for my niece’s wonky stars quilt. I’m not super crazy about the very primary colors, it feels a little too childlike (she’s about to turn 11 and I want her to like it through her teen years – is that unrealistic?!). Or maybe it’s the mostly white center block that’s bothering me. I don’t know. This one might not make it into the quilt. I do really love that mustardy yellow fabric.

I also had some really good fabric shopping and design inspiration experiences this week. This yummy stack of fabrics just came in the mail today (and Form and Fabric included this super cute little tape measure!):

Lots of Wrenly, a little Heirloom, a random elephant print (I’m collecting elephant prints!), and at the very bottom of the stack a totally cool fabric with tattooed women on it. I think I’m going to make myself a mini quilt wall hanging with that one!

In terms of inspiration, I went to the new IKEA in Colorado – my first IKEA experience ever! I just bought a lamp, but I’m sure I’ll be back for some fabric (and lots of other stuff too)!

Ah yes, the stuff I haven’t touched this week:

Quilt tops in progress: 

Colorful log cabin quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for backing:

Rainbow New Wave quilt

Completed quilt tops, waiting for quilting: 

Delia’s Central Park log cabin quilt

Small projects in process:

Hexagon mug rug

This week’s stats:
Last week’s in-progress projects: 6
New projects – 0
Completed projects – 1
Currently in progress – 5

Check out everyone else’s links by clicking the button below.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

