Phew…it’s been a busy week, and I’m about to leave on vacation to Maine on Friday.

Nearly completed quilt: Maddie’s graduation quilt is just about done! It’s all quilted (in concentric diamonds) and I’m in the process of binding it. I’m really excited to finish it up and give it to the graduate! I’m hoping I have room in my suitcase to take it to Maine so that I can show all my relatives what I’ve done. This will end up being my first completed quilt, although I’ve completed several quilt TOPS before this one.

One thing I’ve noticed about this quilt is that it looks really different from a distance than it does up close – a lot of small prints read as solids as soon as you step a few feet away from the quilt, particularly in photos! I prefer the close-up photos which show the softness and details of the different fabrics instead of just looking like big blobs of colors.

I’ll post good pictures of the whole thing, front and back, once it’s bound and washed. Probably from Maine!

No progress: Well, the flip side is that I have barely touched any other projects this week.

New Wave rainbow quilt – I started on the backing over the weekend but I still have a fair amount to do. I’m doing something fairly complex with the backing because I love this fabric so much and wanted to highlight it again in a different way.

Central Park log cabin quilt – no progress on this, still needs to be quilted.

Colorful log cabin quilt – no progress on this either.

New quilts are likely on the horizon, too, because I just bought the Block Party: the Modern Quilting Bee book from Amazon! I shipped it to Maine so I can read it on my vacation. I’m really, really excited for this book. Can’t wait to do something a little more improvisational and funky, and maybe convince my cousins and aunt to start a bee with me.

Check out everyone else’s links by clicking the button below.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

